Press "Enter" to skip to content

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup India Team Match Schedule

With the declaration of match schedules and dates from ICC (International Cricket Council), the hype for the T20 World Cup has increased and crossed all limits. Being the most favorite form of cricket, it is claimed that the T20 World Cup 2020 will set new records in all fields. With the men’s T20 World Cup 2020 having an increased hype, the women’s T20 World Cup 2020 also has a new level of hype. And in India, the situation is no different.

10 teams will be playing for the women’s T20 World Cup 2020. Out of which 8 teams, namely Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies, will be qualified automatically. The remaining 2 teams will be decided via qualifier matches.

The first match of India Women team will be held on February 21, 2020, against Australia Women team. With players such as Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, and Rachael Haynes below the captainship of Meg Lanning, it would be a tough match for the Indian women to crack. The Australia Women team is the defending champion and has won 4 cups so far. This shows the amount of talent the team has.

Moving on, the next match of India Women team will be against the qualifier team from the group on February 24, 2020. Since the team has not yet been decided, we will have to wait for the actual qualifier tournament to take place and conclude.

The next match in the list for India Women team will be against New Zealand Women team on February 27, 2020. With captain Amy Satterthwaite in form, players such as Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Leigh Kasperek, Maddy Green, Katey Martin, Amelia Kerr, Jess Watkin, and Anna Peterson, will lead in the batting. On the bowling end, players such as Kate Ebrahim, Hayley Jensen, Holly Huddleston, Lea Tahuhu, and Hannah Rowe will lead the team.

Women’s T20 World Cup India Team Match Schedule

1) Feb 21 (1:30 pm) : Australia vs India at Sydney Showground
2) Feb 24 (4:30 pm) : India vs Bangladesh at WACA
3) Feb 27 (8:30 am) : India vs New Zealand at Junction Oval
4) Feb 29 (8:30 am) : India vs Sri Lanka at Junction Oval

The last, but not least, the match of India Women team will be held on February 29, 2020, against the Sri Lanka Women team. Even though this will be the last scheduled match, Indian fans are confident that the India Women team will be qualified for semifinals and finals. The Sri Lanka Women team comprises players such as Nilakshi de Silva, Nipuni Hansika, Inoshi Priyadharshani, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Yasoda Mendis, Harshitha Madavi, and Hasini Perera.

Moving to the Indian Women squad we have Harmanpreet Kaur as captain. Further players such as Taniya Bhatia, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Ekta Bisht, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jhulan Goswami, Mona Meshram, Smriti Mandhana, Anuja Patil, Shikha Pandey, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Mithali Raj will help here to get the women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

Seeing the big picture here, the competition here is too intense. Even a slight mistake might cost any team a huge loss, making their journey to win the cup more difficult. But the confidence of fans in the Indian players, the India Women team will all set to grab the cup from Australia Women team. Let us see who gets the cup….

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply